Mainstream Disco Funk

A new compilation from French reissue label We Want Sounds showcases rare disco singles from ‘70s New York. ‘Mainstream Disco Funk’ features 12 tracks released via producer Bob Shad’s Mainstream Records between 1974 and 1976 — with most being officially reissued on vinyl for the very first time in 2023.

The collection includes acts that were instrumental to the popularisation of disco music and block party culture in mid-‘70s New York — with South Side Coalition, Chocolate Syrup and Three Ounces of Love among the highlights. Veteran music journalist Charles Waring, meanwhile, provides history and context via newly-commissioned liner notes.

It’s the latest in a long line of impressive releases from We Want Sounds, with previous highlights including bossa nova and Arabic groove compilations. Elsewhere, rare Japanese City Pop and jazz-funk reissues have showcased artists like Hiroshi Sato, Akiko Yano and Yellow Magic Orchestra members Ryuichi Sakamoto and Yukihiro Takahashi — the latter of whom sadly passed away last week.

‘Mainstream Disco Funk’ is released via We Want Sounds on February 24th, 2023.