Thom Yorke x Burial x Four Tet

A surprise collaboration between Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and producers Burial and Four Tet has been announced as a limited, vinyl-only release this week. The black label 12” record, available only at selected record stores in central London, includes two brand new tracks: ‘Her Revolution’ and ‘His Rope’. It marks the first release from the influential trio in nearly ten years.

Previous collaborations have been received emphatically by electronic music fans. Off the back of Radiohead’s experimental album ‘The King of Limbs’, Yorke joined forces with Four Tet (a regular remixer for both Yorke and Radiohead), and Burial to release ‘Ego’ and ‘Mirror’ in 2011. These dark, house-tinged dance records served as a sequel to a previous partnership between Four Tet and Burial: 2009’s ‘Moth / Wolf Club’.

No official clips have been released of the two new tracks. However, a live stream from XL Recordings looping sections of both pieces evokes a pensive atmosphere. With gentle pianos, distorted synth pads, percussive clunks and processed effects creating a dreamy soundscape, this elusive new release remains full of intrigue.