Yves Tumor

A new track by Turin-based electronic artist Yves Tumor (real name Sean Bowie) has been released. ‘Kerosene!’ is the second single from the American experimental musician’s forthcoming album ‘Heaven To A Tortured Mind’, due out on Warp Records on April 3rd, 2020.

Previous Yves Tumor albums have combined noise, R&B, rock and ambient music, and on ‘Kerosene’ Bowie’s eclectic streak continues. “Will you be my fantasy, little baby?”, he sings over an eerie two-chord organ progression, before a wild, Prince-inspired guitar solo launches the song into a series of melodic crescendos. Joined by prodigious vocalist Diana Gordon, best known as the co-writer of a series of tracks on Beyoncé’s 2016 album ‘Lemonade’, the duo create a romantic dialogue.

‘Heaven To A Tortured Mind’ will be the artist’s fourth LP, and his second on Warp following 2018’s critically-acclaimed ‘Safe In The Hands Of Love’. ‘Kerosene!’ is preceded by ‘Gospel For a New Century’, a sample-based track that combines theatrical brass, grooving bass lines and Bowie’s swaggering vocal hooks.

‘Heaven To A Tortured Mind’ is released on April 3, 2020 on Warp.